By the time Katie and I arrived at work we were already a little giddy because it was movie night and we were so excited that Sunday was finally here. That might explain the frequent bouts of laughter that took control of us throughout the shift.
Katie worked really hard on organizing our movie eats in the backroom. Early in the evening she accused me and Stacy of taking up all of the available space getting our plates filled with food, leaving her with no room to load up her own tray. (Whatever!) So every time the store was void of customers, she disappeared and I quickly realized that she was sneaking into the backroom and sampling all of the treats, especially the Little Smokies she had simmering in a crock pot.
Lots of barbs all night and a lot of laughing and more weird customers than the norm. We about died after the fourth unbelievably obnoxious couple. (Yes, they came in pairs this time.)
Here is the incident where things almost took a nasty turn. This guy hands Katie his purchase. I was standing by the register. Katie rattles off this really fast - two at $1.50, one at $2.00, no, I mean two at $2.00 and two at $3.50 and one at $.50. I got the first thing rung up but the rest just whizzed by me. I guess I couldn’t process all those similar sounding numbers that fast and I told her to slow down. She really slowed it down and we started to laugh. Hysterical laughter, not being able to breath laughter, doubling over laughter, completely out of control laughter. The customer gave us the stink eye and we could see that he was not amused. I handed Katie the register receipt and She tells him the total. Then he says to Katie, "Could you check that?" That is when I really lost it and almost peed my pants. I guess he didn’t think I could ring up his huge fifteen dollar purchase and laugh at the same time.
This is the scary part. When I say I almost wet my pants I mean I really almost wet my pants.
The guy we were helping was already thoroughly disgusted with us so I can't imagine the situation getting worse but it almost did! Anyway, that thought was scarier than any movie I could have watched.
P.S. I don’t think rambunctious laughter is good for a bad back.
Monday, March 30, 2009
Thursday, March 26, 2009
SWIT ladies gone wild
I think the late night movie thing has gotten out of control. Two of the crazy girls I work with are always up for partying so if anyone even suggest something we all chime in and say "Yes, Yes, Yes!" What idiots we are. Thankfully, no one has suggested running down main street at midnight naked but you never know what will happen if we get bored enough. I suppose we should take advantage of the opportunity to have fun because soon, Katie will be off to summer camp and my back should improve enough that I might actually get some work done.
The Sunday night movie at work was great as usual. One of the movies we watched was Wait Until Dark with Audrey Hepburn. We really liked it and it was fairly scarey. Truth be told I really don’t like scary movies, that is why we are sticking to the oldies. They are fairly bland. Katie did fall asleep during the second feature and started snoring. I guess the late nights are taking their toll!
I went to bed at about 3 a.m. and had trouble falling asleep! Really, who can’t go to sleep after 3 a.m. when they have been up all day! Anyway, I got up at 7:30 to get ready for physical therapy.
Physical Therapy - the first thing the therapist noticed was that I was crooked. She said that I had one leg longer than the other. (Holy crap, I am deformed) She gave me a little lift to put in one shoe to help straighten me out. Then they made me do some exercises. UHG!
The next day when I got to work, I asked Raette if I looked any straighter. (It was meant as a joke) She said, "walk." I did and then she said, "You don’t have that little limp anymore."
WHAT! All of this time I have been walking with a limp, dragging my long leg around like IGOR and no one ever told me? Gosh, I think someone might have pointed this out! Anyway, I will be looking into what it takes to qualify for a handicap parking pass!
Back to therapy tomorrow.
The Sunday night movie at work was great as usual. One of the movies we watched was Wait Until Dark with Audrey Hepburn. We really liked it and it was fairly scarey. Truth be told I really don’t like scary movies, that is why we are sticking to the oldies. They are fairly bland. Katie did fall asleep during the second feature and started snoring. I guess the late nights are taking their toll!
I went to bed at about 3 a.m. and had trouble falling asleep! Really, who can’t go to sleep after 3 a.m. when they have been up all day! Anyway, I got up at 7:30 to get ready for physical therapy.
Physical Therapy - the first thing the therapist noticed was that I was crooked. She said that I had one leg longer than the other. (Holy crap, I am deformed) She gave me a little lift to put in one shoe to help straighten me out. Then they made me do some exercises. UHG!
The next day when I got to work, I asked Raette if I looked any straighter. (It was meant as a joke) She said, "walk." I did and then she said, "You don’t have that little limp anymore."
WHAT! All of this time I have been walking with a limp, dragging my long leg around like IGOR and no one ever told me? Gosh, I think someone might have pointed this out! Anyway, I will be looking into what it takes to qualify for a handicap parking pass!
Back to therapy tomorrow.
Monday, March 16, 2009
A movie and a MRI
After work last night Katie, Stacy and I watched Psycho. It was kind of cheesy. We ended up laughing at way too much of it. We did have some mighty good snacks though. That Stacy, she truly knows how to serve up the goodies! There is a problem with seating at the store. We just don’t have any comfy chairs. We did have a couple of fantastic leather chairs but Raette sold them. Gosh, what was she thinking. We do, however, have a chair made out of antlers that with the right pillows isn't too bad.
I decided I had to buy a chaise lounger just for our movie night and glad I did. It was SO much better than trying to sit in a bad chair for hours. I think we have all of the technical stuff figured out, i.e., food, blankets, pillows, lights, seating, snack trays and who's not in charge of popcorn (Miss margarine Katie). On to next week. We have had several good suggestions concerning the next movie. It has got to be scarier than Psycho!
I went to bed at about 2 am and then had to be at a medical place for an x-ray and MRI of my back by 6:30 am. Sheesh, who schedules x-rays at that hour in the morning? If you take into account the recent time change it was actually 5:30 am. I mean really! I just read on the internet that more people have heart attacks during the week after daylight savings time kicks in. I could have had a heart attack getting up that early in the morning. Ok, I didn’t, but I COULD have. Anyway, can’t wait til Wed to see what the Dr. says.
I decided I had to buy a chaise lounger just for our movie night and glad I did. It was SO much better than trying to sit in a bad chair for hours. I think we have all of the technical stuff figured out, i.e., food, blankets, pillows, lights, seating, snack trays and who's not in charge of popcorn (Miss margarine Katie). On to next week. We have had several good suggestions concerning the next movie. It has got to be scarier than Psycho!
I went to bed at about 2 am and then had to be at a medical place for an x-ray and MRI of my back by 6:30 am. Sheesh, who schedules x-rays at that hour in the morning? If you take into account the recent time change it was actually 5:30 am. I mean really! I just read on the internet that more people have heart attacks during the week after daylight savings time kicks in. I could have had a heart attack getting up that early in the morning. Ok, I didn’t, but I COULD have. Anyway, can’t wait til Wed to see what the Dr. says.
Wednesday, March 11, 2009
Lucky Customer
Here is what happened Sunday at work. Katie and I get to work about four o’clock to take over for the day shift girls i.e., hot party girl Amanda and se*y Brazilian Silvia. Somehow we started talking about b**bs. I think this is what happened, Katie asked Silvia what shirt she was wearing under her sweatshirt. Silvia shows us what she is wearing. Ooh la la!! FYI, Silvia has fantastic fake breasts (seriously, we are all jealous). Katie decides she wants to see what they feel like so she asks Silvia if she can touch them. Katie proceeds to place one hand on her own b**b (she wants to do a comparison) and her other hand on Silvia’s chest. The store is almost empty of customers, just one twenty something guy that Amanda is helping. Amanda, being stalwart, is wrapping and boxing his purchase while listening to the *rgy that is happening right behind her back.
Here is how it went down -
Silvia - showing off her goods.
Katie - touching said goods.
Me - in shock and awe.
Amanda - managing to keep a straight face.
Customer - having the best shopping day of his life.
Here is how it went down -
Silvia - showing off her goods.
Katie - touching said goods.
Me - in shock and awe.
Amanda - managing to keep a straight face.
Customer - having the best shopping day of his life.
Monday, March 9, 2009
Sunday night fun

Had a blast last night, but Katie already wrote about our movie madness. Here is a link to her blog. Can't say it any better than she did! http://katielyn2403.blogspot.com/
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)