Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Customer Service or Not!

I have decided to keep a running total of the strange things people say to me at work. I have to admit that I say some pretty stupid things back.

Here is what happens most of the time.
Me – “How are you today?” Them – “I am fine, how are you?” Me – “Fine, thank you.”
Here is the problem.
Me – “How are you today?” Them – “I am fine.” Me – “Fine, thank you.”
I always feel like such an idiot when I do that.

Now, moving on to some of the more interesting comments from customers that I have encountered. A little background for this one. I work in a really cool shop that locals and tourists just love. We have TONS of merchandise, from 50¢ rocks and arrowheads to thousand dollar works of art. We have more souvenirs and jewelry than any store I have ever been in. So one night a guy walks in looks around and then asks, “Do you know if there is a souvenir shop in town?” (BTW, he was serious). I said, “No, not that I am aware of.” Gosh!

Sheldon, (who also worked at the store for a couple of years) had a lady that bought an antler chandelier and then asked him if he thought she could carry it on the plane. He said, “I’m sure you won’t have any problems.”

We sell some beautiful Indian headdresses that are handmade by Navajo artists. They sit on a custom stand that has a base piece of wood with a large dowel holding the headdress three or four feet off the ground. Customer -- “Do you sell the stand that the headdress sits on without the headdress?” Me – “Yes, we will sell you the stand and then we will lay the feathered headdress on the floor for display and you will have a custom made dowel sticking out of a big piece of wood.” SHEESH!!!!


Right now we have about 15 inches of snow with more on the way and it is about 10° on a good day. I don’t know what this guy was thinking, but a man came in last night and wanted to know if we had a palm tree or anything with a palm tree. Hummmmm, maybe we could fly one in for you from Vegas. Maybe you could fly yourself to a gift shop in Hawaii, I bet they have something there. Hey wait, try the deli up the street!

Some customers come into the store after they have had a lot to drink. (Not necessarily bad for business.) One late evening a woman came in and looked at some arrowhead jewelry. She said, “What pretty Christmas Trees.” I said, “Those are arrowheads.” She said, “Oh, they look like little trees.” I said, “They’re little trees if you want them to be little trees.” She said, “Maybe I will come back tomorrow.” I thought, “Good idea.”

We sell gag gift million dollar bills for one dollar. They sit right next to the cash register. Here are things that customers say when they see them. BTW, I have heard these comments hundreds of times.

Kid – “Is this real.”
Me – “Yes!”

Kid’s older brother – “You're so stupid, they are not going to give you a million dollars for one dollar.”
(I love older brothers.)

Customer – “Look, a thousand dollar bill.”
Me – “It’s a million.”

Customer – “Can I pay with this?” “You can keep the change.”
Me – “Ya know I’ve never heard that one before?”
Customer – “I’m glad I was the first.”
Me – “Ugggh.”

Customer – “They don’t print these anymore do they?”
Me – “Nope, these are a limited edition.”

Another gag gift we sell is an envelope of snake eggs. Yeah, that’s right snake eggs. What is in the envelope are rice (a.k.a. – snake eggs) and a rubber band tension bar that you wind up, place back in the envelope and then wait for someone to open it. If done right, the jump factor is quite effective. Here we go with more comments and questions.

Customer – “If you put these in the freezer the eggs won’t hatch.”
Me – “That’s right, frozen rice has a hard time hatching into anything.”

Customer – “Why would anyone want snake eggs?” “Why would anyone want snake eggs and a rubber band?”
Me – “It’s a joke.” (Gosh, get a LIFE!)

Customer – “Can we take these on the plane?”
Me – “Yes, but make sure they don’t get wet, you never know what might happen.”

For a real laugh try explaining the whole snake egg-wind up rubber band thing to a foreigner!
(They think you are nuts)

This just happened tonight -
Customer – “That bright orange jewelry is really pretty. What kind of stone is that?”
Me – “It’s not a stone, it is spiney oyster shell.”
Customer – “So, what kind of stone did you say that was?”


Ok, I think this post is long enough. I will start a new tally of things that happen at work and post again in a couple of weeks.

Friday, December 26, 2008

Snow for Christmas


Most of our Christmas day was spent working on the snow outside. We went from just a few inches the day before to drifts of 3-4 feet with just one storm. Here is a picture of the snow we had to dig through to get to the big rabbits. They were dry but we weren't! We had to put up an emergency tarp to keep snow from blowing into their cage.

The other huge problem was the driveway. GOSH, talk about a losing battle. This was one of the biggest storms we have had since we have lived here. Curt, Sheldon, and Emerson were exhausted trying to keep paths and driveways accessible. Christmas was nice though, I stayed in my pajamas all day!

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

Merry Christmas

I have decided that it’s not really Christmas until you start seeing the inflatable decorations popping up.

A couple of Sheldon’s neighbors really take decorating for Christmas serious. We have made fun of their display in the past but this year the first week of December rolled by and NO decorations had appeared.

YIKES, could we really be missing their lighted wonder? What was taking so long? We hoped everything was all right. Were they sick? Were they offended from remarks that they resemble the Griswold’s?

Then, slowly things started appearing until it was all there. Whew! We felt better knowing that their Christmas spirit was once again alive and well.


I guess that the truth is WE REALLY LIKE their exhibit. It just seems so Christmassy. Hopefully they won't scare us like that again.

Here is some video to share with you this Christmas Season. ENJOY!

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Why does it have to be so darn cold?











We are freezing! I can't believe how cold it is. I just looked at our outside thermometer and it is -4 degrees. (It is 11:00 pm). My feet have been cold all day.

We have heated kennel pads for the bunnies which they use all the time. I have met a lot of rabbit people that say bunnies don't need anything like that in the winter if they have good enclosures, but since they sit on them all the time when it is this cold I say balderdash! Usually the pad will keep their water from freezing also, but it is always something we have to check just to be sure so, that means getting out early in the morning to check on everyone. I always wonder why I have animals in the winter!

Last year we brought them inside but since Curt worked so hard this summer getting their pens all covered, we are seeing how they do. Besides, that is a lot of bunny poop in the house.

I have two Flemish Giant rabbits that are just the coolest things you have ever seen. They have a huge underground den that they excavated all summer, but they still prefer their house with the heated pad. I don't think they are as tough as they look!

Our two little rabbits, Sweet Pea and Flint, are right next to the back door in big 8 ft x 8 ft pens where they have a lot of freedom and cages with ramps to run in and out of so hopefully I won't have to bring them in the house because then they have to take turns having a cage free romp. Why do some bunnies want to kill each other? I can't quite figure these cute cuddly creatures out!

I have one bunny in the house that is still young. Bungee. I got her because I saw an ad in the local tv classified section advertizing bunnies that needed homes. So I talked Katie into driving me about 60 miles away so I could see this rabbit. She was a bottle fed baby and all of her siblings had died. How could I resist? Besides, the place I got her from was really awful so there was no way I was leaving her there.

Bungee loves Curt and it is so funny to see them together. He can carry her anywhere and she just lies in his arms. Originally we thought she was a he, that was until we took him in to be neutered and they spayed HER instead. Curt and I swear she was a he so that tells everyone how much we know about rabbits!!! We don't have any more outside pens, so she will probably stay in the house forever. She loves it outside though and loves to run around when she can talk us into letting her out.

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Holiday Anxiety




I can’t believe that Christmas is less than two weeks away. I am starting to get nervous. When September was here I showed her some vintage doll furniture I had and she really liked it and so I decided to mail it to Virginia for Eliza. I am still trying to figure out how to get it there. I think when I get it all packed up and mailed I will be happy because I can move on to other things like getting ready for all of the other crazy stuff.

I don’t have my neighbor gifts ready yet because Curt dropped the ball on getting all of the Frito Lay snacks I told him to get. (I mean what is the point of working at Frito Lay if you can’t bring home a truckload of munchies). I bought some cute penguin chip and dip trays at the Dollar Store and some cellophane bags at Xpedx and I am just waiting on the chips and dip. Gosh, I hope no one shows up with a gift before I am ready.

Some big, giant snow storm is supposed to barrel down on us at any moment, so that will slow me down. (Just looked outside and nothing yet). I wonder if the weather man is right??? Oh, of course he is, how stupid was that thought.

OK, I think I will go back to bed now because I have been awake all night. (No wonder I like sleeping pills). Hmmmm, maybe I should just shower and get over to Walmart before I am snowed in for the day and going this early would show those other Saturday Christmas shoppers who’s boss!

Thursday, December 11, 2008

YaHoo! A New Car

Well, I did it. Made a decision that is. I went to look at a car today and decided it was nice enough to take the plunge. I test drove it to Curt's work and he liked it and said if I could figure out a way to pay for it I could get it. Yeah right, spoil the moment with a big downer like that! So I took the car back and found myself saying to the dealer, "I'll take the car".

Then I had a slight meltdown which I fixed by going to lunch with Katie and she said, "Get the car". Then, my next meltdown I called September and she said, "Get the car". So I walked into the credit union and they said, "Here is some money, get the car".
I still had Sheldon to call and he said "What, another Explorer?" and I said "What is wrong with an Explorer?" Then after some coaxing, he said, "Good decision on the car".

The person that cares the most about the car is Emerson. It's a little bit of a letdown because now he has to stop shopping for cars, just when he was getting really good at it.

The place I got the car I REALLY liked. I guess the real test will be if I still feel that way after I pick up the car on Monday. Emerson can't wait until Monday. YAHOO!!!!

Monday, December 8, 2008

Send some Christmas Cheer for free

Send a Christmas card to one of our fantastic soldiers. Use this link. It is fast and easy.
http://www.letssaythanks.com/Home1280.html

Car mania

Today we went car shopping. Well, really we just went to one place. Maybe I will get a car after all. Curt is kind of being a party pooper about everything. So as soon as Emerson and I sweeten him up we might get a car!! I hope soon because Emerson's brains have turned to mush. All he can talk about this car and that car he found online. He is actually a walking car info encyclopedia. He knows everything. He even corrects the car salesman!!! It is pretty amazing.

Sunday, December 7, 2008

buyer's remorse

We went and looked at a newer Explorer yesterday. I had buyer’s remorse last night even though I hadn’t bought anything. So I decided that I would get some new tires for my old car and give it a thorough cleaning and see if it felt like a new car. Katie said I should buy some “new car fragrance spray” for it. I think I should just stay the course with the old and cheap! But we are still looking for a car for Curt to drive up and down the canyon, something that gets better gas mileage than my old Explorer would and a car that cost less than what I was going to spend on a new car for me. Anyway, I am sad and relieved at the same time. Maybe next year?????

Friday, December 5, 2008

Christmas

I finally finished decorating my living room for Christmas. It is beautiful. I just wish the rest of my house looked so good. Now, visiting teaching, neighbor gifts, gift cards, presents, wrapping, celebrating. Wow, it sounds so easy. Hummmmm, KEEP IT SIMPLE! (My advice to myself.)

car issues


Curt needs a different car to get up and down Parley's Canyon during the winter. He started looking at older 4wd's and the cars he was looking at were a lot like the older Explorer I have now. So I had this great idea. He can have the Explorer and I can get something different, (not a brand new car, just a better one than I have now). So now I am car shopping. GEEEZE, why does everything I like have to cost so much???? Oh well, I have a really great car salesman (ha! ha!) working on finding me a great deal! (I guess that could really mean a great deal for HIM!) Time will tell, I plan on having this resolved in two weeks or less.

Sunday, November 30, 2008

Driving with a 15 year old

Emerson has his learners permit and needs driving practice soooooo,
today I took him out and let him drive. This was his first time driving outside a parking lot.

We went on the frontage road behind Home Depot. I only screamed and tried to push the brake on my side once. Okay, maybe several times. GOSH! Why does it have to be so hard. I thought he had paid attention to driving rules and regulations all these years of being a passenger. Not!!!

I haven't told him this but he need LOTS and LOTS of practice before May when he turns 16, but I can't take him out again until I am over the post traumatic stress syndrome I am going through tonight.

Saturday, November 29, 2008

Bargain shopping with other crazies

I have a love/hate relationship with Black Friday. I love the bargains you can get if you are out of bed by at least 4 am, but I hate that you might be risking your life to do it! I guess I am being a little dramatic here, because nothing that happened to Emerson and I while we were out pre-dawn on our Friday morning shopping spree seemed life threatening. There were, however, some really scary people around, especially at a certain west side Walmart we were forced to go to.

I think Black Friday is more fun if you don't "have to have" a certain item. I bought the camera I wanted online the day before, so we just snagged what bargains we could and didn't have to "race" to anything. (Sheldon, does that sound familiar?)

We started our shopping at 5 am at the PC Walmart. Nightmare! We then went to Smith's Marketplace in Salt Lake, Mcdonalds, Shopko, and the "other" Walmart. At 7:30 am we headed back up the canyon so I could go to work. After work (3 pm) I swung home, picked up Emerson and we drove back down the canyon to finish up at Crown burger, (you have to eat to keep up your strength for a day like this) Costco, The Dollar Store, and Target. Target was pretty much picked over by late afternoon. They didn't have anything left that I wanted. We also stopped off at T-mobile to check phone prices, (nothing worked out for me there either) and then filled up with gas --YAHOO--$1.53 a gallon.

When we got home, we took Tex (the dog I am dog sitting) home, checked up on the cats, went to Smith's to pick up a prescription and then finally we were done for the day. All said and done Emerson and I think we had a great Black Friday. We braved the crowds for a couple of great deals and acomplished all we set out to do!!!

One little drawback, Emerson knows what he is getting for Christmas because he helped me shop for his gifts. Oh well, I couldn't have done it without him and he is a happy camper because he gets what he wants. WHAT A FUN ADVENTURE!!!!

The only thing missing was going to a movie. Next year I will plan ahead and NO working on the day after Thanksgiving.

Monday, November 24, 2008

What am I doing here?

Several weeks ago I tried to sign in with a google account on September's blog which I thought I had already created. After several attempts with trying different passwords and combinations of things I somehow ended up creating a blogger page. (I am still not sure how I did this). I pondered. Should I blog (which I really am too lazy to do), or should I just ignore my newly created site?

I still haven't decided how to handle this. Ha, Ha. I feel like I am just talking to myself, which I do frequently, especially in the grocery store. Another thing, I don't know how to work the web page thing. September tried to help me with a few things while she was here, but we really didn't have time to fool around with it. I am still trying to figure out the picture thing. My pictures are small and September's pictures are big. I can't figure out how to make my pictures move down with the posts. I will work on it more when Katie comes over and shares her computer skills with me. Or, I could just forget the whole thing. Have to think about this.

Today I am bored because I am fighting a cold so I haven't gone anywhere. Nice day to talk to myself!

Black Friday Ads - The Official Black Friday 2008 Website

Black Friday Ads - The Official Black Friday 2008 Website

Catching up or not!

Curt caught a cold and since he is so thoughtful he gave it to me. I am using Zicam and will see if my cold is less severe than his. I hate going to work with a runny nose. I work the next two days, have Thanksgiving off and then I work Friday! No wonder I can't get caught up.

It is really cold outside but no snow. So far, I am not doing the Black Friday thing, however I have said that before and still ended up going. I don't think I will stand outside in the cold, with a cold for the bargains that I sometimes have seen again several weeks after the BIG sale.

I will check the paper on Thursday to see if there is anything to lure me out of bed at four or five in the morning. YIKES!

Friday, November 21, 2008

Exhausted

September, Benjamin and Eliza left on Wednesday. It was sad and nice at the same time.
Things I will miss -
- Having the kids to help with bunny feedings.
- Eliza’s smile, (which was never ending).
- Benjamin’s silly laugh.
- Visiting with September.
- Watching Toby and the kids interact.
- Listening to Benjamin laugh everytime Toby barked.
Things Toby will miss –
- Food on the floor.
- Snagging treats from Benjamin and Eliza.
Things I won’t miss –
- Getting kids in and out of the car.
- Stepping on toys.
- Putting away the Brio train every night.
- Loads of laundry.
- Getting out of bed in the morning.

September helped save some failed brownies last week by pouring homemade caramel on them. They were so yummy that I made more yesterday and ate most of them myself. Let's see, brownies yesterday and a big tub of popcorn last night. Sometimes life seems pretty great!

Katie and I went to see Twilight at midnight and got home about 3:30 am this morning and then I went to work. Sometimes I wonder why I do things like this and then complain that I am tired!
Next week – Thanksgiving – Yikes! Then the pressure is on to get to Christmas decorating!

Sunday, November 2, 2008

I am almost ready for my company. My daughter-in-law and grandkids will be here Tuesday. Just a little cleaning tomorrow and then some grocery shopping. All would be well but I just received a severe weather alert that says Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday will be heavy snow days. YIKES! These are the days I will be driving down and back up the canyon. Figures. The weather has been so nice. Oh well, I should have known winter would come sooner or later.

Friday, October 31, 2008

I really don't want to do a blog because I am too lazy to even get it started. But here is today's news:
Today is Halloween and we have had about 15 trick or treaters. The weather is gorgeous so that is why we were able to get so many kids. Usually we have about four, so I will count this as great year. I decorated my front porch with straw, pumpkins, cornstalks, and lights. I love it when my house is all decked out but sometimes I don't do it. Now, I can get started on Christmas decorating......YEAH!
going to bed now. will start tommorrow. gosh gotta find some pictures